Mainstream Magazine “Horse-Canada” Wrestles Tough Slaughter Issue

Standard

mom and babyLast year I was interviewed by journalist Liz Brown,  who writes for the Canadian publication Horse-Canada.  Sinikka Crosland,  Executive Director of the Canadian Horse Defence Coalition was also interviewed.  This was a months-long writing/research project for Ms. Brown that was temporarily derailed when Canada stopped accepting imports of American horses briefly in October 2012.

I had wondered whether it would ever be published when a couple of people mentioned that they had seen it in the print version of the magazine.  As far as I know,  it’s not available online but I’ve reproduced it here.  It’s a fairly balanced piece that covers feedlot issues,  the ever-present spectre of horsemeat purveyor La Palette Restaurant in Toronto and our protests there,  toxicology issues,  the lack of testing protocols at the CFIA,  and the falsification of EIDs.  Of course,  horsemeat pimp Bill “Slaughter is a Wonderful Option” DesBarres is quoted as well.

You can’t read the article without arriving at the inevitable conclusion that this multi-million dollar industry is incredibly problematic,  quite apart from the actual cruelty involved.  Hopefully this article resonates with the audience of Horse Canada,  which primarily features more “fluff” pieces on topics such as coronary band injuries and dietary supplements.

Please click on the graphic to open the article in PDF format.

Horse Canada's Expose Stable to Table - please click to read the full article in PDF.

Horse Canada’s Expose Stable to Table – please click to read the full article in PDF.

About Heather Clemenceau

Hopefully as I've grown older I've also grown wiser, but one thing I've definitely become cognizant of is the difference between making a living and making a life. Frequently outraged by some of life's cruelties, and respect diversity. But.....I don't suffer fools gladly, and occasionally, this does get me into some trouble! I have the distinction of being the world's worst golfer - no wait, I do believe that there is a gypsy in Moldavia who is a worse golfer than I. Nor am I much of a dancer - you won't see a booty-shakin' flygirl routine from me! I'm also not the kind of cook who can whip up a five-course meal on a radiator either! And I've never figured out how to get an orchid to bloom a second time. I love to discuss literature, science, philosophy, and sci-fi , or even why Seinfeld is funny on so many levels. Words move me. I'm very soft-hearted about most things, especially animals, but I have a stoicism about me that is sometimes interpreted incorrectly. I do have a definite edge and an often "retro-adolescent" sense of humour at times. I'm a big advocate of distributed computing projects to advance science. Check out http://boinc.berkeley.edu/ if you want to find out more. I'm an eclectic (but not crazy) vegetarian, and as such, it's a personal practice of mine to seduce innocent meat-eaters into cruising the (salad) bars at every opportunity. You would be powerless to resist. I was recently surprised to find that a computer algorithm concluded that I write like Dan Brown, which is funny because I didn't think Dan Brown could actually write. Check out your own style - http://iwl.me/ Oh, and I love impractical shoes and funky hats.

4 responses »

  1. Still waiting for the magazines to come out AGAINST horse slaughter! Considering the amount of people associated with these magazines that make their living from horses….what a betrayal!

  2. Interesting piece, Heather. I agree that it’s fairly well balanced although I wish they would have pointed out the problem with groups like Need You Now Equine. They are actually putting even more money in kill buyers’ hands and adding to the problem. Today, I have a lunatic over on my blog claiming that horse slaughter in Canada has been shut down. Strangely, I have been unable to find anything about that anywhere….

  3. I stopped subscribing to horse magazines a long time ago. They have pretty much the same content~ illnesses, bandaging, hoof care, blanketing etc. and while they are important and helpful to those that reading this for the first time, I just found they were becoming a waste of my money, with the exception being “the Horse”, published in the US. Horse slaughter has been long ignored, and I am not sure why. It is dirty. Very dirty. It is upsetting…but it exists. I have been wondering lately why the horse community is so silent on this issue, and now think it may be unaware of just how often it takes place, and how it is carried out. I have been learning more about this, and I have to say it is appalling. It would take more space than I can write here, but I would urge everyone to educate yourself, and take a close look at this issue.

Leave a Reply

