Keep Calm And Flashmob!

Standard

keep-calm-and-flash-mob-8Written by:  Heather Clemenceau

What I love about the flashmobs is that they are planted by a seed and are typically organic and truly amateur in nature.  Yet they are also characteristic of a combination of military efficiency, complete anonymity, rapid communication and organization by internet. Normally, they occur without a specific purpose other than to be short-lived and fun and sometimes even baffling, with the purpose being left up to the interpretation of the viewers.

We’ve all seen video of the Hallelujah chorus at the food mall court, the no-pants subway ride, or the flashmob that gathered to cheer on a little boy on a carousel.  But unlike the typical flashmob, horse advocates today held their own single-issue mobilization which took place on talk show host Craig Ferguson’s Facebook page.   If you thought flashmobs were viral, you’ll never believe what one Facebook member was able to accomplish with a simple but creative idea, a Facebook group, and proactive friends and friends of friends.

Last Friday, Craig Ferguson presented a comedy routine to express his dislike for horse meat being found in burgers. He started out making name tags for all stage staff. He also made a name tag for “Secretariat” his show mascot.  Secretariat’s badge said “NOT BURGER MEAT.”late-show-craig-ferguson

Of course, this Craigy Ferg skit was in response to the great 2013 horsemeat scandal, where Europe is now collectively gagging after discovering the  massive introduction of horsemeat into the food chain now spreading throughout the world.  Major supermarket chains were found to be selling beef products that contained horse meat. Burger King sourced thousands of burgers from the same Irish beef supplier, and Findus “beef” lasagna was found to contain 100% horse meat.

gangnamst1Horse lovers response to the issue of horse slaughter was enough to make a cowboy’s head spin when hundreds of  horse lovers “mobbed” the Facebook page to say “neigh” to horsemeat.  I stopped counting at 300 pics, which galloped past our goal of 100 photos.  I’m sure we left more than a few clueless onlookers gaping in the background on Ferguson’s Facebook page.  Be sure to visit the page and “like” our photos.  And please remember to thank Craig Ferguson (and like his Facebook page) for indulging our Facebook Flashmob!

Well done horse lovers!

Finally,  I’d like to add that we’ve had a successful event – like a true flashmob we must now go quietly into the night.  Mr. Ferguson and his staff have been more than kind in permitting our 400+ posts,  and we don’t want his staff to have to put on the show tunes as a signal that our event is over!  Anyway,  we have tried to reciprocate that kindness new Facebook “likes”,  Twitter followers,  and I’m sure new viewers!  I count myself among those….Thanks to everyone!

About heatherclemenceau

Hopefully as I've grown older I've also grown wiser, but one thing I've definitely become cognizant of is the difference between making a living and making a life. Frequently outraged by some of life's cruelties, and respect diversity. But.....I don't suffer fools gladly, and occasionally, this does get me into some trouble! I have the distinction of being the world's worst golfer - no wait, I do believe that there is a gypsy in Moldavia who is a worse golfer than I. Nor am I much of a dancer - you won't see a booty-shakin' flygirl routine from me! I'm also not the kind of cook who can whip up a five-course meal on a radiator either! And I've never figured out how to get an orchid to bloom a second time. I love to discuss literature, science, philosophy, and sci-fi , or even why Seinfeld is funny on so many levels. Words move me. I'm very soft-hearted about most things, especially animals, but I have a stoicism about me that is sometimes interpreted incorrectly. I do have a definite edge and an often "retro-adolescent" sense of humour at times. I'm a big advocate of distributed computing projects to advance science. Check out http://boinc.berkeley.edu/ if you want to find out more. I'm an eclectic plant-based eater, and as such, it's a personal practice of mine to seduce innocent meat-eaters into cruising the (salad) bars at every opportunity. You would be powerless to resist. I was recently surprised to find that a computer algorithm concluded that I write like Dan Brown, which is funny because I didn't think Dan Brown could actually write. Check out your own style - http://iwl.me/ Oh, and I love impractical shoes and funky hats.

3 responses »

  1. Part of the horse meat scandal included the new owners of the XL foods slaughter house that was recently involved in the E-Coli scandal. Partner that with the fact that Canada relaxed its regulations regarding the separation of horse meat from other meat in slaughter houses and I wonder if we in North America are not already having horse meat trimmings mixed in with beef and pork? If pink slime is added without our knowledge who knows what is in the hamburger in processed foods?

  2. This has brought tears to my eyes, to see everyone participating and all of those beautiful horses! Wonderful job! Thank you Heather! 🙂

Leave a Reply

