Children’s Summer Camp Season – Please Choose Programs That Do Not Discard Horses And Ponies!

Standard
From this.....

From this…..

Written by:  Equine Advocates,  reprinted with permission

Summer will be here before you know it and now is the time many parents are in the process of trying to decide where to send their children to camp. Not all camps that feature horseback riding are the same. Some take very good care of their horses and retire them rather than sending them to auction where they can be sold for slaughter. However, many camps, especially many of the seasonal ones that do not keep their horses all year round, lease their horses from killer buyers and dealers who take them back at the end of the summer and sell them at auction. Those camps should be avoided. In addition, many camps are guilty of inhumane conditions such as keeping horses tethered in the hot sun all day and making them work all day long without a break.

Equine Advocates has been involved with the Camp Horse Issue since 1996 and have been featured in articles and in a FOX undercover

Or this.....

Or this…..

investigation, which included our rescue of a former pony mare named, Journey, who we saved at the New Holland slaughter auction in PA. She had been used as a camp horse at a summer camp before being scrapped for slaughter. We recommend strongly that anyone wanting to send their kids to a riding camp should do their research. Ask questions like, “What happens to your horses at the end of the season?” “Do you retire your horses when they can no longer perform?” “Where do you find the horses for your program?”

To this?

To this?

In the FOX investigation, one very upscale riding camp in Connecticut was found dealing with dealers who took the horses back at summer’s end and sold them at auction. However, there are good camps out there. Please take the time to find them. Also note that the same applies to riding academies, riding schools, college equine studies programs, dude ranches, national children’s organizations and other programs that feature riding. Just do the research and find a reputable camp or riding program that teaches your kids all the right lessons, including the humane treatment and care of horses, ponies, donkeys and mules.

Equine Advocates is a national nonprofit equine protection organization founded in 1996, promoting equine rescue, retirement, and the humane treatment of horses, ponies, donkeys, and mules. Located in Chatham, New York.

About heatherclemenceau

Hopefully as I've grown older I've also grown wiser, but one thing I've definitely become cognizant of is the difference between making a living and making a life. Frequently outraged by some of life's cruelties, and respect diversity. But.....I don't suffer fools gladly, and occasionally, this does get me into some trouble! I have the distinction of being the world's worst golfer - no wait, I do believe that there is a gypsy in Moldavia who is a worse golfer than I. Nor am I much of a dancer - you won't see a booty-shakin' flygirl routine from me! I'm also not the kind of cook who can whip up a five-course meal on a radiator either! And I've never figured out how to get an orchid to bloom a second time. I love to discuss literature, science, philosophy, and sci-fi , or even why Seinfeld is funny on so many levels. Words move me. I'm very soft-hearted about most things, especially animals, but I have a stoicism about me that is sometimes interpreted incorrectly. I do have a definite edge and an often "retro-adolescent" sense of humour at times. I'm a big advocate of distributed computing projects to advance science. Check out http://boinc.berkeley.edu/ if you want to find out more. I'm an eclectic plant-based eater, and as such, it's a personal practice of mine to seduce innocent meat-eaters into cruising the (salad) bars at every opportunity. You would be powerless to resist. I was recently surprised to find that a computer algorithm concluded that I write like Dan Brown, which is funny because I didn't think Dan Brown could actually write. Check out your own style - http://iwl.me/ Oh, and I love impractical shoes and funky hats.

3 responses »

  1. Great suggestions. However, as we know horse dealers and the businesses that use them are craft and lie, even while on the surface espousing humane and loving attitudes.

    How does a prson really find out the background of the camp their child wants to spend time in?

    • It’s not easy, but as someone who likes to poke around at auctions periodically, I would check the place out in the winter and see how many horses they have at that time. I’d also get familiar with the most local auction and see if they advertise the camp horses in the fall. Any place that has a much smaller inventory of horses in the off-season and then each summer is flush with horses is pretty suspect unless they have a farm of their own where they can keep them. We’re so used to people lying to us about what happens to horses but I think sometimes it helps to “play dumb” and ask what Smokey does in the winter time when he isn’t working as a riding pony and hope they slip up in some way because they think we’re not wise to them. No foolproof way though….

  2. Pingback: Childrens’ summer camp season please choose programs that do not discard horses and ponies | Canadian Horse Defence Coalition's Blog

Leave a comment